I’m guessing he’s not for European captains

29Oct07

You know, I’ve been at this blogger game for about two years now (and I’ve been published on hockey in different forms for about seven or eight years prior to that), and I’ve gotten all sorts of goofy feedback and even the in-jest death threat from New York Ranger fans, but this is the first racist comment I received.

Judging by this fellow’s expert grammar skills, I’m guessing fifth grade English class wasn’t a priority (call me if you ever want a lesson on capitalization and punctuation). And something tells me you’re not going to get a lot of support for “Sissy Euro” captains out of this anonymous mouth.

As for us “orientals” and hockey, it must be the non-Asian part of Paul Kariya’s heritage that’s got him tied for second in the league in assists. And don’t even get the commenter started on this venture.

Still, I suppose being good at math and science isn’t exactly the worst stereotype to have. I’m not as good at hockey statistics as this guy from Nashville though…oh wait, since when did Nashville residents become hockey experts?

8 Responses to “I’m guessing he’s not for European captains”

  1. 1 Sherry

    Did I wake up in the 1800s? Somebody ought to remind this young man (or woman?) that the term ‘oriental’ is reserved for decor from Pier 1 Imports and possibly tea. My hockey fandom is a result of me dutifully neglecting my math and sciences, thank you very much.

  2. 2 Mike Chen

    I wonder what he thinks of Jarome Iginla?

  3. 3 CKim

    As an Asian and hockey lover, I am so fucking offended that I’d slap that bitch across the mouth if I ever met him. I’ve actually never had a racial comment directed at me, and I feel horrible that you were the target of one. =/

    Yeah, math and science…not the strong suits….

  4. 4 leanne

    Better yet, what did he make of Devin Setoguchi’s two-goal debut?

    One of the reasons I love hockey is how colourblind it is compared to many other major league sports…

  5. 5 Loser Chris

    Jimmy Paek and his two Stanley Cup rings think that person is a joke.

  6. 6 vakfan

    Maybe Robin Big Snake and Rumun Ndur could help him with this issue.

  7. 7 FAUXRUMORS 2

    1) Take it as a positive that it took 2 years to get that kind of a remark sent here.

  8. 8 Lyle Richardson

    Don’t let it get you down, Mike. Actually, in a sick way, it’s a compliment because it shows you’re getting known for your work.

    Unfortunately this sort of thing is the price to pay for that recognition.I usually get about one or two hate mails a week.

    Hate mail used to upset me but now I just ignore it and don’t let it bother me.

    Keep up the good work and ignore the bigots, you’re doing a helluva good job.


Leave a Reply

