Crappy Player Pick ‘Em update

06Oct07

Here’s the current lineup of our little competition. You can still join in the fun until 10/10/07. If you want to make a pick, check out the rules and then leave a comment in the original post. And don’t try and cheat like Golbez Mirtle will catch you! If you don’t see your name on this list and you made a pick, check out the original post comments — you may have been disqualified.

Mike (me!): Chris Gratton
Kyle: Ian Laperriere
Danny (Battle of Pennsylvania): Pascal Dupuis
Andrew: Radek Bonk
Mike (Shaved Ice): Yanic Perreault
James Mirtle: Eric Belanger
Rob (RotoRob): Chris Clark
Jes Golbez: NOT Andrew Brunette or Mike Knuble
Ron: Alexei Ponikarovsky
Gary: Aaron Asham
RudyKelly (Battle of California): Derek Armstrong
Alanah (Canucks & Beyond): Matt Cooke
Bryce: Jon Sim
Jeremy: Manny Malhotra
Earl Sleek (Battle of California): Sammy Pahlsson
Steve (Puck Update): Jed Ortmeyer
Matt (Battle of Alberta): Nik Antropov

8 Responses to “Crappy Player Pick ‘Em update”

  1. 1 James Mirtle

    Perreault is also ineligible. He’s averaged 51 points over his career.

  2. 2 Mike Chen

    Damn it, I could have sworn I checked his numbers to prevent further repicks. I’ll let him know.

  3. 3 Mike

    I guess we’re prorating based on an 82-game season? Hardly fair – Perreault’s played all 82 games precisely once in his entire career, and that was 6 years ago.

    I hate to pick nits, but the rules state “Players must have a career point average of less than 45 points per season.” Not counting his two short season when he was just a tyke (93 and 94), Perreault has scored 498 points in 13 seasons, or 37.6 points per season.

    I would think you’d guys would give me this, because of course Perreault has no chance of winning. But in the spirit of fair play, I will pick another. Trent Hunter.

  4. 4 Mike

    You might rue this day, because Hunter is actually a better pick than Perreault. Rue, I tell you!

  5. 5 James Mirtle

    Chen outlined exactly how to calculate a player’s points average, and it was not simply by dividing his total points by No. of seasons. It’s points per 82 games.

  6. 6 Mike

    I missed the update, my bad.

  7. 7 RudyKelly

    Is it bad that I already regret my decision?

  8. 8 Jes Gőlbez

    I’ve made two picks and then you change the rules. WTF? Mirtle is just sore b/c I make great picks and he doesn’t.


Leave a Reply

