Non-hockey post: A word on Barry

08Aug07

I’m a lifelong San Francisco Giants fan but I can’t root for Barry Bonds. Not only has his contract been an albatross on the team (so has ownership decisions and idiot maneuvering from management…but it all centers around him), I can’t respect his achievements, even if we are in a “steroid era.”

I haven’t closely followed his chase even though I’ve been keeping up with the Giants through this dismal season (side tangent: I wouldn’t be so disgusted with the team if they just conceded to finally rebuild, not re-sign fan favorites from half a decade ago on the tail end of their career — no offense Rich, it’s not your fault), so after dealing with a bunch of random stuff tonight, I clicked on the news to see that he finally broke Hank Aaron’s record.

Well, I hope Magowan & co. are happy now. They got their SportsCenter moment, their moment in time, and now we can all move on and do what’s right for the team, not for their own egos or need for “history.” Please, for the love of Ray Kinsella, rebuild the damn team.

As for Mr. Bonds, I think Dale Murphy (my favorite player growing up along with Will Clark — hell, I even have a vintage Murphy Braves jersey in my closet) summed it up best:

“I mean, people are calling up and complaining, I’ve heard the last few weeks, that that he’s being treated unfairly. You know, life just usually isn’t like that. You don’t usually get treated unfairly. You usually get what you deserve.”

Sure, half the league may be juiced up, but it doesn’t mean that we have to celebrate them. When does NHL training camp start?

3 Responses to “Non-hockey post: A word on Barry”

  1. 1 OddyOh

    I guess that’s a non-hockey post…although this line reminded me very much of my own feelings towards my Maple Leafs: “I wouldn’t be so disgusted with the team if they just conceded to finally rebuild, not re-sign fan favorites from half a decade ago on the tail end of their career”…LOL, took the words outta my mouth!

  2. 2 Anonymous

    When does NHL training camp start

    One sec, let me ask Sean Hill…

  3. 3 Hockey Czarina

    I’ve been waiting for the season to start since the Pens got knocked out (and decided not to move 6 miles south of me).

    Bonds – there shouldn’t of been any fanfare at all. He’s a joke.


Leave a Reply

