Any music geek hockey fans out there? We need your help

03Apr07

If you’ve read this blog for a while, then you may remember last season’s Rawk the Puck! extravaganza hosted by the Toronto Star’s Chris Young. I’m organizing the festivities this season and we’re looking for just a few more folks to contribute a level of snark to go with songs that have very loose word or location associations with teams (e.g. The Smiths’ Handsome Devil for New Jersey or Jeff Buckley’s Vancouver for, obviously, Vancouver).

Check out an example of what we did last year and contact me if you wanna join in the fun as a panelist. Otherwise, stick around next week for the big unveiling along with a fancy new in-blog polling mechanism to determine the winners.

Update: We’ve got some last-minute volunteers, so our panel is full now. Be sure to check back starting Monday for the madness.

3 Responses to “Any music geek hockey fans out there? We need your help”

  1. 1 Anonymous

    I’m not sure I understand what you are doing, but I think I would excel at this.
    Does each NHL city/team get a cool theme song and we see what team wins in theory (best song) or actuality (team wins the Stanley Cup, so that song is the winner). Is this only playoff teams, or everybody?
    I need to get my head around the idea before I can help you.

  2. 2 Jordi

    I’d love to volunteer. As some weird underage panelist. I’ll go for the tween angle. Not really. Fine.

  3. 3 Mike Chen

    I’m not sure I understand what you are doing, but I think I would excel at this.

    Neither do we! That’s why this is so awesome!

    In a nutshell, we use first-round playoff matches to pit songs against each other. Then the public and the panel vote, the winners move on, the losers cry in their beer, and this repeats for four rounds. So other than the team identity and the initial matchups, it has no basis in reality (or hockey, really). We do our best to make snarky hockey comments, though.

    Actually, I appreciate the interest, but I think we’re good on panelists — got a few volunteers right away. Make sure to stop by


Leave a Reply

