Does NBC read this blog?

27Mar07

So, one day after I posted the question about “quality game/lower-profile teams vs. star player/crappy game,” I see this over at Kukla’s Korner:

NBC will be able to select from a minimum of three games scheduled on Sunday afternoons. Thirteen days prior to the scheduled games, NBC, in conjunction with the NHL, will select one of those games as the “Game of the Week” to be broadcast during the NBC window. The other two games will revert back to the team’s regional carrier (not to be televised during NBC’s broadcast window).

It looks like NBC will only be showing one game per week next season. Is this to maximize exposure of a good game (probably) rather than be stuck with Sidney Crosby vs. a crappy team? Or is it to cut down travel and setup costs?

My guess is that NBC decided that regionalization isn’t all that important; instead, they’d rather have one game to promote across the country. The added bonus of saving money via less on-air talent, travel, equipment, trucks, etc., well that’s probably music to Gary Bettman’s ears — remember, it’s a revenue sharing deal. In order to share, well, you actually have to have some revenue, right?

3 Responses to “Does NBC read this blog?”

  1. 1 Paul

    I think you have inside information.

  2. 2 Anonymous

    Sorry Mike, but I don’t think it’s you. The NHL does fan surveys, and they recently asked questions about what teams people wanted to see on NBC. I answered that I’d rather see Crosby and the Pens or another elite Eastern Conference team like Buffalo than a regional game featuring teams like the Kings and Stars since us Sharks fans see waaaay too much of those teams already and never get to see teams from the other conference because of the stupid schedule. I’m guessing I’m not the only fan who gave that answer.

    By the way, if other Sharks fans would like to participate in the surveys, you can sign up at:

    http://www.nhlfanfaceoff.com

    I got an e-mail from them recently saying they’ve been trying to get more Sharks fans to sign up.

  3. 3 Mike Chen

    Anonymous, I was just kidding. I’m sure they monitor the blogosphere to some level, but I don’t think I have THAT much pull. Not yet, anyways!


Leave a Reply

