I’ve sold out to the man (Fox Sports)

29Dec06

So, um, anyone check out Fox Sports’ NHL page lately? You might have seen this…
The rumors are true. I’ve sold out to the man AKA Fox Sports. It’s important to note that Fox Sports is a different division from the freaky people at Fox News, so I haven’t totally turned to the dark side yet. Actually, it’s a pretty simple — they’ll just be republishing some of the posts on here, only to a much bigger audience and a cool byline. A big hat tip over to Spector for the hookup.

For the time being, the posts on there will be the same as the posts on here (either old ones they’ve picked or new ones as I post them), but other stuff may come on down the line. I’ll make a note on here any time an exclusive post goes up over there, but for the time being, you can keep checking in here and you won’t miss anything.

The next goal is to try and leverage this credibility to finally get a talk with Doug Wilson. So far, the Sharks have completely ignored my requests even though Wilson claimed he’d talk with anyone who contacted the team.

13 Responses to “I’ve sold out to the man (Fox Sports)”

  1. 1 Anonymous

    Dude that’s awesome! Congrats on the new gig…even if it’s to FOX. Consider me envious.

    Good luck with getting in touch with Wilson. I live with Ted Saskin’s cousin and I haven’t been able to manipulate that to my advantage…but keep on trying! You never know how far you can get if you annoy the right amount of people.

  2. 2 Anonymous

    That is fantastic!!

    If you had gone over to the 4-letter network I would disown you completely. 😉

    Just remember the little people on the way to the top.

  3. 3 Lyle Richardson

    Glad I could help, Mike. Welcome aboard! I wish you all the best.

  4. 4 Christy Hammond

    Congrats!!

  5. 5 Mike Chen

    Don’t worry Michael, I don’t think Bristol would touch me since I don’t have a greasy mullet. Hey, I think more people will read my stuff than watching a game on Versus — not that that’s saying a lot!

  6. 6 Anonymous

    (blahblahblahblah) congratulations! All the best for everything. No! Wait! Happy New Year!

  7. 7 Paul

    Does that mean you now have a “glow” to you?
    Good luck Mike, look forward to catching your stuff!

  8. 8 Anonymous

    In game media space (i.e. :30 commercials) is included as part of the broadcast agreement between the NHL and the network…it doesn’t require an additional $$$ investment.

    To buy time on an NFL broadcast, which is a great idea, would cost money….just like it does for Ford or Pillsbury. Tens to hundreds of millions to do it correctly.

    Would the NHL invest that money?

  9. 9 alanah

    Congratulations, Mike. And a great column, too. 🙂

  10. 10 Anonymous

    hey that was a great idea for the commercial.

  11. 11 mooner

    i LOVE that idea for the hockey commercial. not only should the NHL take your idea, pay you handsomely for it, and run it every sunday during football, but run it as well during the baseball playoffs, maybe do something to help promote the NHL playoffs during NBA games.
    loved the article and will be anxiously looking for more

  12. 12 Anonymous

    Everytime I hear of bloggers moving up towards a more mainstream acceptance, I feel extremely proud for them. There are so many good writers in this line, and each time one gains higher media acceptance, it gives us all hope that what we work so hard at, is not so futile after all.

    Congratulations, Mike.

    I hope you get out of it all you wish. Well done!

  13. 13 John F.

    Congrats, Mike! Now maybe you (or Lyle for that matter) can explain why someone associated with Fox was on Boltsmag yesterday while I was doing some housekeeping?

    Happy new year!


Leave a Reply

